Ben’s Big Gig – poster printing

9 April 2009

Hello, regular Hand & Eye readers. This entry isn’t being written by Phil, as he’s downstairs doing some actual work. Instead, this is Nick; I did a couple of weeks’ work experience with Phil back in September/October last year, and I was so successful at bringing biscuits to the workshop that Phil asked me to come to work for him this year. My skills have greatly improved since then, and I now make a pretty good cup of tea as well. This post indicates yet another expansion in my responsibilities, as I’m now in charge of long, rambling musings on whatever work I’m up to.

Enough of me. To business! My old friend Ben Walker is a constant user and champion of social networking sites, and Twitter in particular; you may even have heard his musical observations on the Twitterverse through YouTube (or possibly even the actual radio). Ben is attempting what we believe to be a world first, in integrating mobile blogging, social networking and music performance by putting on Ben’s Big Gig on 1st May this year; if that sounds like an amazing mix of activities, that’s only because it is. Have a look at Ben’s site to find out more aout it. He gave us a call yesterday, asking if we could make him some posters to promote the show around Oxford. Saying, perhaps unwisely, that he trusted me to lay it out as I saw fit, his design brief read…

“Eye-catching is better than classy.  Play on high-tech vs. low-tech.  Funny is better than good.”

An excellent brief, if ever I heard one. With that in mind, we immediately set to designing with my usual pensmanship.

Ben's Big Gig #1

With such clarity already present in the design, the rest of the process was almost a foregone conclusion, but we felt a little experimentation was in order. It was only a short step from here to a first proof from our wood and metal type…

Ben's Big Gig #2

Turns out that was ok; sadly, there were many more words still to fit on the page.

Ben's Big Gig #3

And yes, after a great deal of tinkering, making ready, changing to silver ink and putting in the words ‘The Funky Llamas’, we were done…

Ben's Big Gig #4

Thanks to Ben for providing us with a great project; if you, dear reader, have an event for which you need a poster, you know how to get in touch. See you all down at The Big Gig…

5 Responses to “Ben’s Big Gig – poster printing”


  1. I really enjoyed reading your site, great choices of designs here! Thanks for sharing, it was fun reading it!


  2. [...] centre, as well as attract hundreds of visitors who watched live over the web – Nick Gill’s gorgeous lo-fi poster, pasted up all over town, couldn’t have hurt either. A Twitter wall on the back of the stage [...]

  3. Louisa Says:

    I love this!
    I found you via your eBay store and am fascinated by letterpress.
    This is a gorgeous project and it was amazing to see the project develop from the draft to the finished piece.


  4. Hi Nick,

    I’m getting in touch to ask if you could create a poster for a charity auction/tweetup I’m planning for a big crowdsourced advenuture I’m embarking on in September called 7 Wonders in 7 Days.

    The event is at Living Room, Deansgate, Manchester on 25th June.

    I came across you via Ben Werdmuller’s ‘Ben’s Big Gig’ blog post.

    You can find out more about the project including motivations at http://www.7wondersin7days.com.

    Drop me a line via the website/Twitter if you are up for it.


  5. Loved reading bout the project i’v never seen this done before, look forward to readying your other archived projects.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

